The 30 Day Asexuality Challenge – Day 14

14) Tell us about a time when you met another asexual, whether in real life or online.

I sort of wrote about this in a previous post about how I first learned one of my college friends was ace, and in turn she learned I was ace as well. However, I first met her in the beginning of my freshman year, right before the semester started. We lived in the same dorm and her room was pretty near mine, and my roommate and I happen to see her unpacking while talking to two of her friends. We stopped in to exchange the usual “Hello, how are you, what’s your name?” kinds of questions.

We managed to know each other for about a year and a half, none of us realizing the other was asexual. Then during Paideia (the week before the second semester starts at my college when students are allowed back on campus and hold informal classes on any and every topic that interests them), one guy (who I’d never met before) put together an Asexuality 101 class, which I thought would be intriguing to go to, since I’d never seen asexuality explained or discussed in space outside of ace spaces on the internet, and I also wanted to lend support to the person doing the class. At the end, I went up to thank him for running the class and doing such a great job. He asked me if I was ace too and I said I was. I turned around to see my friend, who I hadn’t even realized had been there during the class, and she said, “You’re ace!?” “Yeah,” I said. “So am I!” she responded. And then we high fived.

Published in: on August 3, 2011 at 11:00 PM  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://eargo.wordpress.com/2011/08/03/the-30-day-asexuality-challenge-day-14/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

