The 30 Day Asexuality Challenge – Day 9

9) What does being asexual mean to you?

For me, being asexual means I’m not sexually attracted to other people. That is ALL that it means. It does NOT mean that I don’t appreciate or desire any sort of intimacy and it does NOT mean that I dislike physical closeness. In fact, I very much like physical intimacy and really want to experience more of it in my life. I think intimacy in general is one of the best things ever to exist and to be shared among all human beings. Sexual activity is one form of intimacy. It is neither the best, nor the be-all, end-all of all possible ways to express and share intimacy. My ability and capacity to love other people, in whatever way I do, is in no way dampened or hindered because I am not sexually attracted to them. Just as sex doesn’t equal love, the latter, even romantic love, doesn’t equal sex. Similarly, intimacy of any kind, be it emotional or physical, does not equal sex. That’s all there is to it.

Published in: on July 14, 2011 at 11:06 PM  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://eargo.wordpress.com/2011/07/14/the-30-day-asexuality-challenge-day-9/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

