The 30 Day Asexuality Challenge – Day 8

8 ) Do you believe there should be asexual pride? What do you imagine it being like?

Yes, I do there think there should be ace pride. Right now, simply promoting visibility and awareness is an example of pride because of its lack of presence and acceptance in the mainstream conscious. To be openly ace in whatever way, be it a pin, a black ring, or a label on your forehead is, to me, an example of showing one’s pride about being asexual. In whatever way someone stands up and says, as a matter of fact and with confidence and self-acceptance, “I am what I am”, they are showing pride.

That being said, I currently lack an obvious asexual symbol with which to express pride. I know I said earlier I don’t want symbols to do the work of advertising my orientation for me, but I still like the idea of symbols as an expression of self-pride. I’m not really a pin or badge type of person, but I do like the idea of the black rings. I need to look more into getting one.

Published in: on July 13, 2011 at 10:37 PM  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://eargo.wordpress.com/2011/07/13/the-30-day-asexuality-challenge-day-8/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Dear Emily,

    I ñove you so much. You are just so open about everything, ñike hpw you should look into buying a black ring. I don’t particularly know what abput that comment made me so happy but it did. Oh and thanls for subscribing, I will try to figure out hpw to do that.

    Mcfishman13

    P.S. Using pennames is kinda fun

    P.P.S. I am now addicted to khaos komix

  2. Thank you so much, you are the best! If you are logged on to WordPress, you go to the gray bar at the top of the website you want to subscribe to, and there’s a button that says “subscribe” that you click on.
    Khaos Komix is pretty awesome, I’m not gonna lie. I will be so sad when it ends.
    Have fun in Quebec and I’ll see you when we both get back. Love.


Leave a Reply

