The 30 Day Asexuality Challenge – Day 5

5) Tell the story of the first person you came out to.

It’s actually a really boring story. Right before I went back to the internet for answers, I’d been emailing with my friend (I’ll call her C) about how I couldn’t see people as attractive and did that make me a freak that I couldn’t say what my asexual orientation at age 18 when most people know when they’re a whole lot younger? So a couple of days after that, I emailed C back to say I’d found the answer – I was asexual – and her response was “Being asexual is totally awesome (don’t know for sure, but if that’s who you are then, it’s awesome.)” And we had many more conversations later on, both over email and in person, about asexuality, what it was, how I understood it as it related to me, and things like that. I had figured telling her would go well, as she’s a pretty accepting person, and we had talked about my confusion over my sexual orientation before.

Published in: on July 10, 2011 at 8:33 PM  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://eargo.wordpress.com/2011/07/10/the-30-day-asexuality-challenge-day-5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

