The 30 Day Asexuality Challenge – Day 4

4) Do you identify as part of the queer community? What communities do you identify with?

In general, I have a hard time identifying with communities except for those that I’m so obviously a part of by virtue of my interacting with them on a regular or daily basis, such as my hometown community or my college community. Aside from that, I tend to identify less with communities than with certain labels or attributes that I feel correctly identify who I am. Case in point – I’m Jewish, but I don’t identify as being part of any Jewish community because I am not actively involved in group Jewish life or affairs. Similarly, I don’t identify as being a part of any overall queer community, but I retain the right to label myself as queer if I so choose to. Also, it’s somewhat difficult to feel comfortable identifying as part of a community that includes members who feel you don’t deserve to belong in the first place because you don’t fit their definition of “queer”. But as I said, I’m not one for identifying with a community solely based on a shared attribute. I prefer to create my own communities with people I actually know and care about.

Published in: on July 9, 2011 at 9:11 PM  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://eargo.wordpress.com/2011/07/09/the-30-day-asexuality-challenge-day-4/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

